Train Fare Hike Not A Problem | Quick Thought

9468421652_fedebc5f72_z

Featured image: Ozzy Delaney under creative commons.

This is just a quick one. I’d just like to say how happy I am that I can drive in a warm, uncrowded and rarely-delayed car and that I have no obligation at the moment to use rail travel, amidst the announcement of a 2.3% rise in fares from the new year.

This signals a 23.5% rise since 1995, the year I was born.
In other words, it would have cost £12.44 for a standard single to London from Farnborough, where I live, compared to the £16.27 it will be next year.

Actually…a £3.83 increase in 22 years isn’t actually that bad.
I’ll go and cry about fuel prices instead.

Leave a Reply

